This page exists as an archive of Today posts prior to 2009. Go to for current stories and to submit new posts.

Sept. 28: 2006 Eddy Legacy Award recipients to be honored

Each year, the Eddy Awards are presented in honor of Willard O. Eddy, founder of the Colorado State's University Honors Program and the philosophy department.  During his 56-year tenure at Colorado State University, Eddy was instrumental in promoting interdisciplinary study and international understanding.

The 2006 Eddy Award recipients have been selected and will be presented with their awards at a campus reception later this month.

Gerald Callahan (pictured on main page of Today @ Colorado State), associate professor with a joint appointment in the Department of Microbiology, Immunology, and Pathology and the Department of English, has been selected as the Eddy Teacher.

Referred to as a "true Renaissance person," Callahan has had a spectacular career as a writer and teacher working at the interface between science and humanities.  Since 1984, when he joined the faculty in pathology, he has inspired unparalleled interest and excitement in his students by communicating both the material and his passion for the subject.  

The recipients of the Eddy Scholar Awards are Rachel Pearsall, a biological science major, and Tyler Will, a double major in history and philosophy. Both recipients are members of the University Honors Program.  

Pearsall is persuing her dream of becoming a veterinarian and would like to be board-certified in equine surgery and teach future students. She has volunteered for several Colorado State organizations and has worked with the ruminant orthopedic research at Colorado State's Veterinary Teaching Hospital.

Will is preparing himself for a career in law. He is a member of several campus and community organizations, including serving on Colorado State's Student Fee Review board.

This year's Eddy Lecturer is Rebecca Goldstein, from the Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study at Harvard University.  Her lecture, "Betraying Spinoza" will be presented on Sept. 28, at 7:30 p.m. in Yates Hall Room 104.

The Eddy Awards will be presented at a reception at 4 p.m. on Thursday, Sept. 28, in the Longs Peak Dining Room inside the Lory Student Center.

The reception is open to the campus community.

Contact: Nikolaus Alrik Olsen
Phone Number: (970) 491-7766

Send to a Friend